Resolutions

I’ve never really had New Years resolutions so this year I figured, since I’m a parent now, I should take every chance I can to have a go at bettering myself. So, I came up with three. I tried to make them simple and not too overwhelming so that I can actually follow them:

1. Eat healthier.

I used to only eat foods that were organic or at least all natural. I was very good at always eating the healthiest thing available to me. I felt and looked great, had tons of energy, was rarely sick, and even though I avoided a lot of foods, I never really felt deprived. Then, working two jobs and going to school got the best of me and I fell off the healthy wagon. I still haven’t had McDonalds since I was fifteen, but the stress and sugar got to me. I was always tired, felt sick more often, and even gained a few. When I found out I was pregnant, I went back to my old healthy habits, but I cheat more often than I ever did before. Candy has been my weakness, so my goal is to kick the sugar and get back on the wagon.  We want to set a good example for Evelyn, so Jay is doing this one with me.

2. Curse less.

Jay is doing this one with me too. I pretty sure someone would report us to social services if Evelyn’s first word was “shit” or worse, “fuck.” We don’t curse like sailors or anything, we just want to decrease our level of profanity so that she doesn’t pull a Meet the Faulkers on us.

3. Blog more consistently.

I’ve been uncharacteristically flakey about this blog so I want to change that. I think it’s great therapy for me and I’m pretty sure I’ll be glad I did it as Evelyn grows. Also, if I do follow though with this resolution, we can find out if I really follow through with the other two throughout the year.

 

Leave a Reply

